Exploring Beverley

Beverley Minster

One of the finest examples of medieval gothic architecture found in the country, Beverley Minster has stood as a place of Christian worship for more than 1,500 years, and it’s history dates as far back as the 8th century. Founded as a monastery by the Bishop of York, St. John, alongside St. Martin before his death in 721, when his body was buried in a chapel of the original Saxon church. The present building was first constructed around the tomb in 1220 and was finally completed in 1425. The building features sixty-eight 16th-century misericords, a Saxon sanctuary chair, a Percy tomb canopy, and a large collection of medieval musician carvings in stone and wood.

East Riding Theatre

We’re proud to support our local theatre. Located in a beautiful building that has been a part of Beverley’s history for over 100 years, the East Riding Theatre has become a much-loved attraction for the local cultural scene. The theatre is homed inside a former Baptist church that was first built in 1909 by architects Garside and Pennington. The striking Art Nouveau-Gothics tyle of the building reflects the Flemish-inspired design of the town’s County Hall. The Theatre first opened it’s doors with a production of Charles Dickens’ “A Christmas Carol”. Since then, it has become a touchstone of the local artistic community, and in 2014, scenes from the film adaptation of the popular TV series Dad’s Army.

Beverley Racecourse

First opening its doors to the public in 1690, Beverley racecourse has become an iconic touchstone of the town’s history. In 1752, the Jockey Club was founded, and the first Grandstand was built in 1767. Between 1813 and 1833, local businessman Squire Richard Watt owned four St. Leger winners, including his most famous horse, Altisidora. During World War 2, the racetrack took a break to serve as an airbase, when the track’s famous uphill finish became a runway. Today, the racecourse welcomes visitors from all around the country to enjoy some of the racing calendar’s most anticipated events, along with private functions for groups and special occasions outside of the season.

St. Mary’s Church

Visible from almost every part of the town and located just across the road from the Beverley Arms, St. Mary’s Church is home to a fascinating history due to its continued architectural development through different artistic periods between 1120 and 1530. Many of the town’s Craft Guilds adopted and St. Mary’s, and during the Middle Ages, the site was regarded as the town’s Parish Church. The building has had a strong influence on visitors and culture over the years, with the unique ceiling paintings of kings in 1446 representing the Kings of England through the previous years, and the carving of the March Hare believed to have inspired Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland.